“Very often a change of self is needed more than a change of scene.” – Arthur Christopher Benson

I have done it.  I have relocated . . . on land and in cyberspace! One thing I haven’t done is kept up on my New Year’s resolution. Big thumbs down for me. Now that life has calmed down I will be a diligent blogger. Thank you for sticking (and moving) with me!!

Making changes is scary.  Making changes is difficult. I worried about having to ask for help moving all of my belongings 85 miles back to the F-M area.  To me, asking people to help me move ranks right up there with asking for a kidney or a ride to the airport.  But, my family and friends came through in a big way.  I am constantly amazed by the support I have in my life.

If you’re thinking about making a career change, whether it’s asking for that big promotion or a new job altogether, and are wondering if the people in your life will support you, try this.  Make a list of all of the worst-case scenarios of how they might react.  Then re-read through the list and think about how likely those responses are to happen.  My family could have refused to help me move, but the chances of that actually happening were very low.

I do realize I was in a position where I wasn’t going to uproot a spouse or children.  However, whenever I think about big changes I think about the following quote I found and put onto a PowerPoint slide:

 

You can do it.  You can make the changes necessary to have a happier and more productive career.  Don’t settle for unhappiness, even if you’re worried about how changing will affect other people.  Chances are the ones closest to you are feeling the ripple effect of your unhappiness.  Make a change in the New Year.  Be brave.  Be happy.

Positive Thought of the Day:

“The first step towards getting somewhere is to decide that you are not going to stay where you are.” -Unknown

One comment on ““Very often a change of self is needed more than a change of scene.” – Arthur Christopher Benson

Leave a Reply

