“Great opportunities to help others seldom come, but small ones surround us every day.”- Sally Koch

So, I had intended on continuing the long thread of ill-behaving managers and what happens?  I have a hiring manager show me such a thoughtful generosity that I had to give credit where credit is due.  

Yesterday I had an interview for a newly created position within a local company.  The interview seemed to flow well, and I learned quite a bit about the position, the department, and company as a whole.  While I always mentally backtrack to rehash what I could have said better once the profuse sweating stopped and the nerves are gone, I felt the interview went relatively well. 

I had received a voicemail from the aforementioned company today and thought, “Could this be an offer?  Why else would they be calling?”  Turns out I didn’t get the position.  However, the hiring manager wanted to know if I would be open to having my résumé to another company who was hiring for a similar opening.  I gladly said, “Yes, thank you!”

If I may be so indulgent, I would just like to say thank you to this particular hiring manager.  You have softened this cynic’s heart for one day!  When facing multiple rejections throughout a job search it is easy to feel like you are being dismissed with nary so much a second thought.  It is reassuring to know that being told no doesn’t always mean you aren’t hirable.  Plus, in the dog-eat-dog working world we live in, it is nice to know there are still people out there who are willing to help you further your career. 

Positive Thought of the Day:

“Success is not built on what we accomplish for ourselves.  Its foundation lies on what we do for others.” – Danny Thomas

Leave a Reply

