“Art is the elimination of the unnecessary.” – Pablo Picasso

Today’s post is not a list.  It’s not even a rant.  It’s a plea; a plea to all hiring managers.  Stop making your application process incredibly long and involved.  I know that you want the cream of the crop to rise above those who, apparently, don’t have the intestinal fortitude to jump over each hurdle you put up.

But, heed my warning (I’m in a pirate-y type mood as I type this):  There are excellent job candidates who will not apply to your positions because they are a) content enough in their job to not spend hours of their downtime explaining to you how their 5th grade career day changed their lives or b) confident enough to know they can get their foot in the door with companies who are smart enough to fully assess a candidate through a well-written resume.

I am not telling you this because I am upset over having to fill out my job history on an online application.  I get that’s a part of the application process.  I am telling you this because having to explain, in detail, how I meet or exceed 20 different points of a job description on top of telling you why I would be great for the position is a tad ridiculous.

So, please reconsider your hiring processes.  If you are unwilling to read through a cover letter that is longer than a page, why should we be willing to write a manifesto just to be even considered for the position?

Positive Thought of the Day:

“Dealing with complexity is an inefficient and unnecessary waste of time, attention and mental energy.  There is never any justification for things being complex when they could be simple.” – Edward de Bono

Leave a Reply

