“Our patience will achieve more than our force.” – Edmund Burk

I wanted to share a glimpse into my personal job hunting process in the hopes of showing how playing it cool as an applicant can actually  help.

At the end of June I had an informal interview for a position at a local bank. Everything went seemingly well; the hiring manager and I seemed to hit it off, so I felt pretty positive about how it went. The position hadn’t been finalized so there was no telling when I would hear word about the next step.

Flash forward to a month later when I still hadn’t heard boo about the status of the position. Rather than panicking I sent a friendly, yet professional, e-mail to the person I interviewed with expressing my continued interest in the position. She responded by letting me know the final details were being ironed out, but she was glad I was still interested.

Still with me? Two days ago I had seen the position posted online. Originally I had been prompted to send my information through a personal contact so it wasn’t common knowledge the position was open. There was a little part of me that thought I was no longer in the running. I was also tempted to reapply to get my name in the circulation through a slightly different path. My gut prevailed and told me to wait. If they wanted me to know what the next step was, they would tell me.

So what was waiting for me in my e-mail inbox today? An e-mail from the hiring manager I had been working with! She said had encouraged me to fill out the application in the hopes of still being interested in the position.

Now I am not naive enough to think I am a lock for this position. It was just encouraging to know that a little patience can yield positive results in the interviewing process!

Positive Thought of the Day :
“Waiting and hoping is a hard thing to do when you’ve already been waiting and hoping for almost as long as you can bear it.” – Jenny Ninno

Leave a Reply

